Using Magic Items

I will use this section to clarify any confusion where using magic items is concerned. Chapter 9 of the Hero’s Guide to Faerun contains a section on using magic items. Any updates here may be considered errata and/or supplemental.

  • A character must be able to read a scroll in order to use it to cast a spell. Whether a character scribes the spell into a spell book or uses it directly, he must still decipher the spell. As noted in the core rulebook, deciphering a scroll to scribe it requires a Spellcraft check against a DC 15 + spell level. This also requires 1 day per spell level to accomplish. Using a scroll directly to cast a spell requires a similar check against a DC 20, in which case the use of Spellcraft is a swift action, thus still allowing the character to utilize a standard action to use the scroll as a spell completion item (by completing the casting check). Some characters may wish to translate a scroll in advance. If this is the case, the Spellcraft check will be versus DC 15 + spell level, but the duration will be for one hour per spell level.

Using Magic Items

A Terrible Twist of the Truth solar4lare